Prize winners at Newark

The rosettes are out!

Motorcycle owners from across the land have been working hard restoring, polishing and perfecting their machines in preparation for the prize-giving this weekend. 

The judges have spoken and the awards are as follows:


Best in Show – 1955 650 Triumph T110 owned by Graham Holloway

Most Technical Interest – 1980 421 Yamaha RD owned by Dave Yates

Vintage (1st prize) – 1921 269 Reynolds Runabout owned by Ken Thirtle


Pre-War (1st prize) – 1936 500 Calthorpe Ivory Master owned by Trevor Bostock

Post-War (1st prize) – 1952 197 Greeves Prototype owned by Dave Bradley

Continental (1st prize) – 1999 500 Bimota V-Due owned by Norbo


Vintage Japanese (1st prize) – 1976 500 Kawasaki H1 owned by Alan Cooper

Modern (1st Prize) – 2005 1000 MV F4 owned by Dave Legett

Private Entry (1st prize) – 1978 900 Ducati MHR owned by Garry Kendrick


Private Entry (2nd prize) – 1985 750 Suzuki GSXR owned by Alan Goddard

Private Entry (3rd prize) – 1955 510 Matchless Special owned by Tim Aucott

Best Competition (Trials & Scrambles) – 250 Greeves Anglican owned by Dave McGregor

Best Competition – 1958 500 Norton Manx owned by Malcolm Potter

Best Unrestored – 1985 400 Honda NS400R owned by Alex Bolas

Best Restoration – 1956 750 Triton Cafe Racer owned by Tony Cookson

Best Paint Job – 1981 1100 Suzuki GSX owned by Florence Martin

Best Trade Entry – West Country Windings Kawasaki H1E

Congratulations to all our winners and everyone else involved!

Enjoy more Classic Bike Guide reading in the monthly magazine. Click here to subscribe.